Step 1:

Read the Learners Permit Manual for Massachusetts. You can buy the manual at the Mass. RMV or download the manual to your computer, free. Learners Permit Download The Learners Permit Manual


Step 2:

Take the MA Learners Permit Practice Test. Take the test as many times as desired. Practice after school, work, and anytime convenient for you. The test questions are randomly generated.


Step 3:

When you are confident in your ability to pass the test, visit a local Mass. RMV office, submit a Learners Permit Application with appropriate identification, pay the fee, and take the test. No appointment is required.

Download The MA Learners Permit Manual

Permit Application Link

Massachusetts Learners Permit Identification Requirements


Passing the learners Permit Examination at the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles is an important step in obtaining your Massachusetts Motor Vehicle License (Class D).

This program is designed to help you pass the MASSACHUSETTS Learners Permit Examination. The test questions are based on the Massachusetts Learners Permit Manual. All applicants for a Massachusetts Learners Permit WILL benefit from this tool.

The questions picked for this preparation test have been selected by a Commonwealth of Massachusetts licensed driving instructor. All of the questions are up to date and current with today's driving laws and regulations.

Obtaining a Class D Permit

Any person who is at least 16 years of age and has not had a driver's license or right to operate taken away by the Registrar may apply for a Class D (passenger) permit at any RMV full service office.

Documentation Requirements

If you are under 18 years of age:
You must present the following:
  • 1 document proving date of birth
  • Parental consent on the Class D, M, or D/M License and ID Card Application
  • A Social Security Number (SSN) that the RMV can verify with the U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA) as having been issued to you OR an acceptable Denial Notice from the SSA. If you present a Denial Notice, you must also present proof of acceptable visa status, an I-94 (Record of Arrival and Departure), and a current non-U.S. Passport.

All documents must be originals. Photocopies will not be accepted. Your right to operate will be verified through the Commercial Driver License Information System (CDLIS) and the National Driver Register (NDR) to determine if it is suspended, revoked, canceled, withdrawn, or disqualified in any state or the District of Columbia. You must pay all required fees.

Sample Test Questions

1. When you see a flashing yellow light at an intersection you should:

A. Speed up, before it turns RED.

B. Use caution, slow down, stay alert and cross the intersection carefully

C. Stop then enter the intersection when safe to do so

D. Check your high beam lights


2. At 60 mph you need _______ feet to stop, the length of a football field:

A. 75 feet

B. 150 feet

C. 292 feet

D. 376 feet


3. How long is a Class D license valid for?

A. 2 years

B. 5 years

C. 3 years

D. 7 years